God's Hotel

God's Hotel : A Doctor, a Hospital, and a Pilgrimage to the Heart of Medicine

PDF God's Hotel : A Doctor, a Hospital, and a Pilgrimage to the Heart of Medicine Download

  • Format: Paperback | 432 pages
  • Dimensions: 142 x 211 x 23mm | 391g
  • Publication date: 02 Apr 2013
  • Publisher: Penguin Putnam Inc
  • Imprint: Riverhead Books,U.S.
  • Publication City/Country: New York, United States
  • Language: English
  • Edition Statement: Reprint
  • ISBN10: 1594486549
  • ISBN13: 9781594486548
  • Bestsellers rank: 97,454

Victoria Sweet's new book, SLOW MEDICINE, is on sale now!

For readers of Paul Kalanithi's When Breath Becomes Air, a medical "page-turner" that traces one doctor's "remarkable journey to the essence of medicine" (The San Francisco Chronicle).

San Francisco's Laguna Honda Hospital is the last almshouse in the country, a descendant of the Hôtel-Dieu (God's hotel) that cared for the sick in the Middle Ages. Ballet dancers and rock musicians, professors and thieves--"anyone who had fallen, or, often, leapt, onto hard times" and needed extended medical care--ended up here. So did Victoria Sweet, who came for two months and stayed for twenty years.
Laguna Honda, relatively low-tech but human-paced, gave Sweet the opportunity to practice a kind of attentive medicine that has almost vanished. Gradually, the place transformed the way she understood her work. Alongside the modern view of the body as a machine to be fixed, her extraordinary patients evoked an older idea, of the body as a garden to be tended. God's Hotel tells their story and the story of the hospital itself, which, as efficiency experts, politicians, and architects descended, determined to turn it into a modern "health care facility," revealed its own surprising truths about the essence, cost, and value of caring for the body and the soul.